WhatsApp is introducing new features to provide users more control and privacy on the app.
Over the years, the messaging app beefed up security by introducing disappearing messages, end-to-end encrypted backups, 2-step verification for added security, and the ability to block and report unwanted chats.
Now WhatsApp is introducing 3 new features to help you control your online presence: blocking screenshots for ‘view once messages’; and the ability to leave groups without other users knowing.
Choose Who Can See When You’re Online: Users will be able to select who can and can’t see when they’re online. This will start rolling out to all users this month.
Leave Groups Silently: With this feature, users will be able to exit a group privately without making it a big deal to everyone. Now, instead of notifying the full group when you are leaving, only the admins will be notified. This feature will start to roll out to all users this month.
Screenshot Blocking For View Once Messages: View Once is already an incredibly popular way to share photos or media that don’t need to have a permanent digital record. This feature enables users to block others from taking a screenshot of their View Once messages. This feature is still in the testing phase and will roll out to users soon.